Dogecoin Price Chart (DOGE) Coinbase

Frequently Asked Questions (Constantly Updated)

This is where you can find answers to some of the most frequently asked questions. If you can't find what you are looking for then perhaps try browsing our WIKI, or one of our past AMA Recaps!
The "most asked" questions are listed first. These will consistently change to reflect Kava's current landscape.

Relevant Questions (Timely)






Crypto Payday


  • How do I qualify for Crypto Payday?
    • Use Kava's DeFi Lending Platform to mint USDX.
      • Currently USDX can only be minted w/ BNB.

  • When are Crypto Paydays?
    • Every Wednesday.
      • Staring July 15th, 2020
      • Ending July 16th, 2021

  • Where can I go to mint BNB?
    • The new features will be accessible via integrated wallet and exchange applications such as Cosmostation, Forbole, Trust Wallet, and Frontier.

DeFi Lending Platform


  • What assets does Kava's DeFi Lending Platform currently support?
    • BNB

  • What are the next assets that will be supported by Kava's DeFi Lending Platform?
    • They Kava community will vote for the next supported asset.
      • Leading contenders are BTC, XRP, and Atom.

  • How are loans given out?
    • Once a user deposits collateral, loans are given out via USDX (Kava's Stable Token)

  • How much USD is USDX worth?
    • Each USDX is the equivalent of $1 (USD)

  • What should I do w/ my USDX?
    • Starting on June 10th you'll be able to begin earning minting rewards on your USDX via Kava's Crypto PayDay promotion.
    • In the very near future (Possibly Late June/Early July) USDX will be listed on exchanges, and can be used to purchase more crypto (Margin Trading) or can be cashed out.
    • Those who mint USDX prior to it's exchange listings will be considered "Early Adopters"

  • Why should I become an Early Adopter of the Kava DeFi Lending Platform?
    • Early Adopters who use the DeFi Lending platform prior to a USDX exchange listing should be doing so for the purpose of leveraging their existing BNB.
      • Early Adopters can take advantage of the Kava Payday rewards, which are likely to off their highest yield within the early stages of the promotion.

  • How/where can I access Kava's DeFi Lending Features?
    • The new features will be accessible via integrated wallet and exchange applications such as Cosmostation, Forbole, Trust Wallet, and Frontier.

  • What happens if my BNB deposit drops in price and becomes undercollateralized?
    • Similar to a traditional margin call, users will be required to deposit more assets (BNB) to bring their collateral back up to par with the loan they have minted.
    • Users will also be able to use their USDX to pay back the loan.
      • Thus, allowing the users to unlock and reclaim their deposits (BNB)

  • How is Kava different from MakerDao?
    • Maker Dao only accepts Ethereum based crypto assets, but Kava accepts all crypto assets!

  • Where can I go to learn more about Kava's DeFi Lending Platform?

Kava Token


  • What is the Kava Token?
    • The Kava Token is a fungible crypto asset of the Kava Blockchain.
    • It is a token that is native to the Kava Blockchain.

  • Where is the Kava Token currently Traded?
    • In 2019, The Kava Token became the first DeFi asset to be tradeable on Binance.
    • Besides from Binance, the Kava Token is available on over a dozen different exchanges including BitMax, MXC, and CoinOne.
    • For a complete list, check out Kava's Market Pairs Page on CoinMarketCap

  • Is the Kava Token currently on any American exchanges?
    • Currently there are not any American exchanges that are trading the Kava Token.
    • Kava works very closely w/ the US Securities & Exchange Comitee to make sure that everything Kava does falls within their guidelines.
      • When the time is right, Kava will be listed on American Exchanges.
      • It is a goal to be listed on American Exchanges, before the end of 2020.

  • How can Americans hold Kava?
    • Kava can be traded amongst users via a multitude of different wallets.
      • Including: Binance, Trust Wallet, Frontier Wallet, Forbole, and Cosmostation amongst many others.

  • What is Kava's Ticker Symbol?
    • The Kava token is traded as:
      • KAVA (all caps)

  • How much of the Kava Token is currently staked?

USDX



  • Is USDX currently listed on any exchanges?
    • As of June 2020, USDX is not currently listed on exchanges.
    • The goal is to get USDX listed on multiple exchanges shortly after the June 10th launch of Kava's DeFi Lending Platform
      • July 2020 is a hopeful time window for USDX listings

  • What is the ticker associated w/ USDX
    • The ticker is listed as:
      • USDX (all caps)


  • Why is USDX valuable?
    • USDX is the highest earning USD denominated account available for modern investors.
      • USDX offers superior yields without additional risk compared to traditional alternatives like checking and savings accounts that only deliver miniscule returns.

Kava General





  • Who are the Kava Knights?
    • The Kava Knights are an unofficial community group which is composed of the most loyal and dedicated of Kava Enthusiasts.
    • Kava may work w/ The Knights at times to co-promote contests and other community engaging activities, but they remain are not an official Kava community.


  • What set's Kava apart from similar projects?

  • Where should I go if I'm looking to become a validator?


  • Why did Kava choose to build with Cosmos?

  • When did Kava's mainnet go live?
    • Kava's mainnet when live in Autumn of 2019

  • What about Kava's CDP Mainnet?
    • Kava will launch it's CDP Mainnet on June 10th, 2020
      • This will be used to support Kava's DeFi Lending Platform
      • View the official announcement! (Coming Soon)



General Questions



  • What does "Cross Chain DeFi Platform" mean?

  • When does "CDP" stand for?
    • CDP stands for Collateralized Debt Position


  • Why do people use DeFi Lending Platforms?
    • DeFi Lending Platforms are used to take out loans.
      • Users deposit crypto as collateral, and then they receive a loan paid out in Stable Coins.
      • Kava currently accepts BNB as collateral, and pays out loans in USDX (Stable Coin)
      • People can use their loans for anything their hearts desire, but most will choose to use the funds to facilitate Margin Trading

  • What is minting?
    • Whenever a user deposits assets into a DeFi Lending Platform as collateral, they recieve a loan paid out in stable coins.
      • Prior to this loan, those stable coins did not exist.
      • The stable coins were "Minted" as a direct result of collateralization that spawned the loan.
    • In regards to Kava, users deposit collateral (like BNB) in order to "mint" USDX - which ultimately represents the loan that the user will receive.
submitted by Kava_Mod to KavaUSDX [link] [comments]

Decred Journal — June 2018

Note: You can read this on GitHub, Medium or old Reddit to see the 207 links.

Development

The biggest announcement of the month was the new kind of decentralized exchange proposed by @jy-p of Company 0. The Community Discussions section considers the stakeholders' response.
dcrd: Peer management and connectivity improvements. Some work for improved sighash algo. A new optimization that gives 3-4x faster serving of headers, which is great for SPV. This was another step towards multipeer parallel downloads – check this issue for a clear overview of progress and planned work for next months (and some engineering delight). As usual, codebase cleanup, improvements to error handling, test infrastructure and test coverage.
Decrediton: work towards watching only wallets, lots of bugfixes and visual design improvements. Preliminary work to integrate SPV has begun.
Politeia is live on testnet! Useful links: announcement, introduction, command line voting example, example proposal with some votes, mini-guide how to compose a proposal.
Trezor: Decred appeared in the firmware update and on Trezor website, currently for testnet only. Next steps are mainnet support and integration in wallets. For the progress of Decrediton support you can track this meta issue.
dcrdata: Continued work on Insight API support, see this meta issue for progress overview. It is important for integrations due to its popularity. Ongoing work to add charts. A big database change to improve sorting on the Address page was merged and bumped version to 3.0. Work to visualize agenda voting continues.
Ticket splitting: 11-way ticket split from last month has voted (transaction).
Ethereum support in atomicswap is progressing and welcomes more eyeballs.
decred.org: revamped Press page with dozens of added articles, and a shiny new Roadmap page.
decredinfo.com: a new Decred dashboard by lte13. Reddit announcement here.
Dev activity stats for June: 245 active PRs, 184 master commits, 25,973 added and 13,575 deleted lines spread across 8 repositories. Contributions came from 2 to 10 developers per repository. (chart)

Network

Hashrate: growth continues, the month started at 15 and ended at 44 PH/s with some wild 30% swings on the way. The peak was 53.9 PH/s.
F2Pool was the leader varying between 36% and 59% hashrate, followed by coinmine.pl holding between 18% and 29%. In response to concerns about its hashrate share, F2Pool made a statement that they will consider measures like rising the fees to prevent growing to 51%.
Staking: 30-day average ticket price is 94.7 DCR (+3.4). The price was steadily rising from 90.7 to 95.8 peaking at 98.1. Locked DCR grew from 3.68 to 3.81 million DCR, the highest value was 3.83 million corresponding to 47.87% of supply (+0.7% from previous peak).
Nodes: there are 240 public listening and 115 normal nodes per dcred.eu. Version distribution: 57% on v1.2.0 (+12%), 25% on v1.1.2 (-13%), 14% on v1.1.0 (-1%). Note: the reported count of non-listening nodes has dropped significantly due to data reset at decred.eu. It will take some time before the crawler collects more data. On top of that, there is no way to exactly count non-listening nodes. To illustrate, an alternative data source, charts.dcr.farm showed 690 reachable nodes on Jul 1.
Extraordinary event: 247361 and 247362 were two nearly full blocks. Normally blocks are 10-20 KiB, but these blocks were 374 KiB (max is 384 KiB).

ASICs

Update from Obelisk: shipping is expected in first half of July and there is non-zero chance to meet hashrate target.
Another Chinese ASIC spotted on the web: Flying Fish D18 with 340 GH/s at 180 W costing 2,200 CNY (~340 USD). (asicok.comtranslated, also on asicminervalue)
dcrASIC team posted a farewell letter. Despite having an awesome 16 nm chip design, they decided to stop the project citing the saturated mining ecosystem and low profitability for their potential customers.

Integrations

bepool.org is a new mining pool spotted on dcred.eu.
Exchange integrations:
Two OTC trading desks are now shown on decred.org exchanges page.
BitPro payment gateway added Decred and posted on Reddit. Notably, it is fully functional without javascript or cookies and does not ask for name or email, among other features.
Guarda Wallet integrated Decred. Currently only in their web wallet, but more may come in future. Notable feature is "DCR purchase with a bank card". See more details in their post or ask their representative on Reddit. Important: do your best to understand the security model before using any wallet software.

Adoption

Merchants:
BlueYard Capital announced investment in Decred and the intent to be long term supporters and to actively participate in the network's governance. In an overview post they stressed core values of the project:
There are a few other remarkable characteristics that are a testament to the DNA of the team behind Decred: there was no sale of DCR to investors, no venture funding, and no payment to exchanges to be listed – underscoring that the Decred team and contributors are all about doing the right thing for long term (as manifested in their constitution for the project).
The most encouraging thing we can see is both the quality and quantity of high calibre developers flocking to the project, in addition to a vibrant community attaching their identity to the project.
The company will be hosting an event in Berlin, see Events below.
Arbitrade is now mining Decred.

Events

Attended:
Upcoming:

Media

stakey.club: a new website by @mm:
Hey guys! I'd like to share with you my latest adventure: Stakey Club, hosted at stakey.club, is a website dedicated to Decred. I posted a few articles in Brazilian Portuguese and in English. I also translated to Portuguese some posts from the Decred Blog. I hope you like it! (slack)
@morphymore translated Placeholder's Decred Investment Thesis and Richard Red's write-up on Politeia to Chinese, while @DZ translated Decred Roadmap 2018 to Italian and Russian, and A New Kind of DEX to Italian and Russian.
Second iteration of Chinese ratings released. Compared to the first issue, Decred dropped from 26 to 29 while Bitcoin fell from 13 to 17. We (the authors) restrain ourselves commenting on this one.
Videos:
Audio:
Featured articles:
Articles:

Community Discussions

Community stats: Twitter followers 40,209 (+1,091), Reddit subscribers 8,410 (+243), Slack users 5,830 (+172), GitHub 392 stars and 918 forks of dcrd repository.
An update on our communication systems:
Jake Yocom-Piatt did an AMA on CryptoTechnology, a forum for serious crypto tech discussion. Some topics covered were Decred attack cost and resistance, voting policies, smart contracts, SPV security, DAO and DPoS.
A new kind of DEX was the subject of an extensive discussion in #general, #random, #trading channels as well as Reddit. New channel #thedex was created and attracted more than 100 people.
A frequent and fair question is how the DEX would benefit Decred. @lukebp has put it well:
Projects like these help Decred attract talent. Typically, the people that are the best at what they do aren’t driven solely by money. They want to work on interesting projects that they believe in with other talented individuals. Launching a DEX that has no trading fees, no requirement to buy a 3rd party token (including Decred), and that cuts out all middlemen is a clear demonstration of the ethos that Decred was founded on. It helps us get our name out there and attract the type of people that believe in the same mission that we do. (slack)
Another concern that it will slow down other projects was addressed by @davecgh:
The intent is for an external team to take up the mantle and build it, so it won't have any bearing on the current c0 roadmap. The important thing to keep in mind is that the goal of Decred is to have a bunch of independent teams on working on different things. (slack)
A chat about Decred fork resistance started on Twitter and continued in #trading. Community members continue to discuss the finer points of Decred's hybrid system, bringing new users up to speed and answering their questions. The key takeaway from this chat is that the Decred chain is impossible to advance without votes, and to get around that the forker needs to change the protocol in a way that would make it clearly not Decred.
"Against community governance" article was discussed on Reddit and #governance.
"The Downside of Democracy (and What it Means for Blockchain Governance)" was another article arguing against on-chain governance, discussed here.
Reddit recap: mining rig shops discussion; how centralized is Politeia; controversial debate on photos of models that yielded useful discussion on our marketing approach; analysis of a drop in number of transactions; concerns regarding project bus factor, removing central authorities, advertising and full node count – received detailed responses; an argument by insette for maximizing aggregate tx fees; coordinating network upgrades; a new "Why Decred?" thread; a question about quantum resistance with a detailed answer and a recap of current status of quantum resistant algorithms.
Chats recap: Programmatic Proof-of-Work (ProgPoW) discussion; possible hashrate of Blake-256 miners is at least ~30% higher than SHA-256d; how Decred is not vulnerable to SPV leaf/node attack.

Markets

DCR opened the month at ~$93, reached monthly high of $110, gradually dropped to the low of $58 and closed at $67. In BTC terms it was 0.0125 -> 0.0150 -> 0.0098 -> 0.0105. The downturn coincided with a global decline across the whole crypto market.
In the middle of the month Decred was noticed to be #1 in onchainfx "% down from ATH" chart and on this chart by @CoinzTrader. Towards the end of the month it dropped to #3.

Relevant External

Obelisk announced Launchpad service. The idea is to work with coin developers to design a custom, ASIC-friendly PoW algorithm together with a first batch of ASICs and distribute them among the community.
Equihash-based ZenCash was hit by a double spend attack that led to a loss of $450,000 by the exchange which was targeted.
Almost one year after collecting funds, Tezos announced a surprise identification procedure to claim tokens (non-javascript version).
A hacker broke into Syscoin's GitHub account and implanted malware stealing passwords and private keys into Windows binaries. This is a painful reminder for everybody to verify binaries after download.
Circle announced new asset listing framework for Poloniex. Relevant to recent discussions of exchange listing bribery:
Please note: we will not accept any kind of payment to list an asset.
Bithumb got hacked with a $30 m loss.
Zcash organized Zcon0, an event in Canada that focused on privacy tech and governance. An interesting insight from Keynote Panel on governance: "There is no such thing as on-chain governance".
Microsoft acquired GitHub. There was some debate about whether it is a reason to look into alternative solutions like GitLab right now. It is always a good idea to have a local copy of Decred source code, just in case.
Status update from @sumiflow on correcting DCR supply on various sites:
To begin with, none of the below sites were showing the correct supply or market cap for Decred but we've made some progress. coingecko.com, coinlib.io, cryptocompare.com, livecoinwatch.com, worldcoinindex.com - corrected! cryptoindex.co, onchainfx.com - awaiting fix coinmarketcap.com - refused to fix because devs have coins too? (slack)

About This Issue

This is the third issue of Decred Journal after April and May.
Most information from third parties is relayed directly from source after a minimal sanity check. The authors of Decred Journal have no ability to verify all claims. Please beware of scams and do your own research.
The new public Matrix logs look promising and we hope to transition from Slack links to Matrix links. In the meantime, the way to read Slack links is explained in the previous issue.
As usual, any feedback is appreciated: please comment on Reddit, GitHub or #writers_room. Contributions are welcome too, anything from initial collection to final review to translations.
Credits (Slack names, alphabetical order): bee and Richard-Red. Special thanks to @Haon for bringing May 2018 issue to medium.
submitted by jet_user to decred [link] [comments]

Decred Journal – August 2018

Note: you can read this on GitHub (link), Medium (link) or old Reddit (link) to see all the links.

Development

dcrd: Version 1.3.0 RC1 (Release Candidate 1) is out! The main features of this release are significant performance improvements, including some that benefit SPV clients. Full release notes and downloads are on GitHub.
The default minimum transaction fee rate was reduced from 0.001 to 0.0001 DCkB. Do not try to send such small fee transactions just yet, until the majority of the network upgrades.
Release process was changed to use release branches and bump version on the master branch at the beginning of a release cycle. Discussed in this chat.
The codebase is ready for the new Go 1.11 version. Migration to vgo module system is complete and the 1.4.0 release will be built using modules. The list of versioned modules and a hierarchy diagram are available here.
The testnet was reset and bumped to version 3.
Comments are welcome for the proposal to implement smart fee estimation, which is important for Lightning Network.
@matheusd recorded a code review video for new Decred developers that explains how tickets are selected for voting.
dcrwallet: Version 1.3.0 RC1 features new SPV sync mode, new ticket buyer, new APIs for Decrediton and a host of bug fixes. On the dev side, dcrwallet also migrated to the new module system.
Decrediton: Version 1.3.0 RC1 adds the new SPV sync mode that syncs roughly 5x faster. The feature is off by default while it receives more testing from experienced users. Other notable changes include a design polish and experimental Politeia integration.
Politeia: Proposal editing is being developed and has a short demo. This will allow proposal owners to edit their proposal in response to community feedback before voting begins. The challenges associated with this feature relate to updating censorship tokens and maintaining a clear history of which version comments were made on. @fernandoabolafio produced this architecture diagram which may be of interest to developers.
@degeri joined to perform security testing of Politeia and found several issues.
dcrdata: mainnet explorer upgraded to v2.1 with several new features. For users: credit/debit tx filter on address page, showing miner fees on coinbase transaction page, estimate yearly ticket rewards on main page, cool new hamburger menu and keyboard navigation. For developers: new chain parameters page, experimental Insight API support, endpoints for coin supply and block rewards, testnet3 support. Lots of minor API changes and frontend tweaks, many bug fixes and robustness improvements.
The upcoming v3.0 entered beta and is deployed on beta.dcrdata.org. Check out the new charts page. Feedback and bug reports are appreciated. Finally, the development version v3.1.0-pre is on alpha.dcrdata.org.
Android: updated to be compatible with the latest SPV code and is syncing, several performance issues are worked on. Details were posted in chat. Alpha testing has started, to participate please join #dev and ask for the APK.
iOS: backend is mostly complete, as well as the front end. Support for devices with smaller screens was improved. What works now: creating and recovering wallets, listing of transactions, receiving DCR, displaying and scanning QR codes, browsing account information, SPV connection to peers, downloading headers. Some bugs need fixing before making testable builds.
Ticket splitting: v0.6.0 beta released with improved fee calculation and multiple bug fixes.
docs: introduced new Governance section that grouped some old articles as well as the new Politeia page.
@Richard-Red created a concept repository sandbox with policy documents, to illustrate the kind of policies that could be approved and amended by Politeia proposals.
decred.org: 8 contributors added and 4 removed, including 2 advisors (discussion here).
decredmarketcap.com is a brand new website that shows the most accurate DCR market data. Clean design, mobile friendly, no javascript required.
Dev activity stats for August: 239 active PRs, 219 commits, 25k added and 11k deleted lines spread across 8 repositories. Contributions came from 2-10 developers per repository. (chart)

Network

Hashrate: went from 54 to 76 PH/s, the low was 50 and the new all-time high is 100 PH/s. BeePool share rose to ~50% while F2Pool shrank to 30%, followed by coinmine.pl at 5% and Luxor at 3%.
Staking: 30-day average ticket price is 95.6 DCR (+3.0) as of Sep 3. During the month, ticket price fluctuated between a low of 92.2 and high of 100.5 DCR. Locked DCR represented between 3.8 and 3.9 million or 46.3-46.9% of the supply.
Nodes: there are 217 public listening and 281 normal nodes per dcred.eu. Version distribution: 2% at v1.4.0(pre) (dev builds), 5% on v1.3.0 (RC1), 62% on v1.2.0 (-5%), 22% on v1.1.2 (-2%), 6% on v1.1.0 (-1%). Almost 69% of nodes are v.1.2.0 and higher and support client filters. Data snapshot of Aug 31.

ASICs

Obelisk posted 3 email updates in August. DCR1 units are reportedly shipping with 1 TH/s hashrate and will be upgraded with firmware to 1.5 TH/s. Batch 1 customers will receive compensation for missed shipment dates, but only after Batch 5 ships. Batch 2-5 customers will be receiving the updated slim design.
Innosilicon announced the new D9+ DecredMaster: 2.8 TH/s at 1,230 W priced $1,499. Specified shipping date was Aug 10-15.
FFMiner DS19 claims 3.1 TH/s for Blake256R14 at 680 W and simultaneously 1.55 TH/s for Blake2B at 410 W, the price is $1,299. Shipping Aug 20-25.
Another newly noticed miner offer is this unit that does 46 TH/s at 2,150 W at the price of $4,720. It is shipping Nov 2018 and the stats look very close to Pangolin Whatsminer DCR (which has now a page on asicminervalue).

Integrations

www.d1pool.com joined the list of stakepools for a total of 16.
Australian CoinTree added DCR trading. The platform supports fiat, there are some limitations during the upgrade to a new system but also no fees in the "Early access mode". On a related note, CoinTree is working on a feature to pay household bills with cryptocurrencies it supports.
Three new OTC desks were added to exchanges page at decred.org.
Two mobile wallets integrated Decred:
Reminder: do your best to understand the security and privacy model before using any wallet software. Points to consider: who controls the seed, does the wallet talk to the nodes directly or via middlemen, is it open source or not?

Adoption

Merchants:

Marketing

Targeted advertising report for August was posted by @timhebel. Facebook appeal is pending, some Google and Twitter campaigns were paused and some updated. Read more here.
Contribution to the @decredproject Twitter account has evolved over the past few months. A #twitter_ops channel is being used on Matrix to collaboratively draft and execute project account tweets (including retweets). Anyone with an interest in contributing to the Twitter account can ask for an invitation to the channel and can start contributing content and ideas there for evaluation by the Twitter group. As a result, no minority or unilateral veto over tweets is possible. (from GitHub)

Events

Attended:
For those willing to help with the events:
BAB: Hey all, we are gearing up for conference season. I have a list of places we hope to attend but need to know who besides @joshuam and @Haon are willing to do public speaking, willing to work booths, or help out at them? You will need to be well versed on not just what is Decred, but the history of Decred etc... DM me if you are interested. (#event_planning)
The Decred project is looking for ambassadors. If you are looking for a fun cryptocurrency to get involved in send me a DM or come talk to me on Decred slack. (@marco_peereboom, longer version here)

Media

Decred Assembly episode 21 is available. @jy-p and lead dcrwallet developer @jrick discussed SPV from Satoshi's whitepaper, how it can be improved upon and what's coming in Decred.
Decred Assembly episodes 1-21 are available in audio only format here.
New instructional articles on stakey.club: Decrediton setup, Deleting the wallet, Installing Go, Installing dcrd, dcrd as a Linux service. Available in both English and Portuguese.
Decred scored #32 in the August issue of Chinese CCID ratings. The evaluation model was explained in this interview.
Satis Group rated Decred highly in their cryptoasset valuation research report (PDF). This was featured by several large media outlets, but some did not link to or omitted Decred entirely, citing low market cap.
Featured articles:
Articles:
Videos:

Community Discussions

Community stats:
Comm systems news:
After another debate about chat systems more people began testing and using Matrix, leading to some gardening on that platform:
Highlights:
Reddit: substantive discussion about Decred cons; ecosystem fund; a thread about voter engagement, Politeia UX and trolling; idea of a social media system for Decred by @michae2xl; how profitable is the Obelisk DCR1.
Chats: cross-chain trading via LN; plans for contractor management system, lower-level decision making and contractor privacy vs transparency for stakeholders; measuring dev activity; what if the network stalls, multiple implementations of Decred for more resilience, long term vision behind those extensive tests and accurate comments in the codebase; ideas for process for policy documents, hosting them in Pi and approving with ticket voting; about SPV wallet disk size, how compact filters work; odds of a wallet fetching a wrong block in SPV; new module system in Go; security of allowing Android app backups; why PoW algo change proposal must be specified in great detail; thoughts about NIPoPoWs and SPV; prerequisites for shipping SPV by default (continued); Decred vs Dash treasury and marketing expenses, spending other people's money; why Decred should not invade a country, DAO and nation states, entangling with nation state is poor resource allocation; how winning tickets are determined and attack vectors; Politeia proposal moderation, contractor clearance, the scale of proposals and decision delegation, initial Politeia vote to approve Politeia itself; chat systems, Matrix/Slack/Discord/RocketChat/Keybase (continued); overview of Korean exchanges; no breaking changes in vgo; why project fund burn rate must keep low; asymptotic behavior of Decred and other ccs, tail emission; count of full nodes and incentives to run them; Politeia proposal translations and multilingual environment.
An unusual event was the chat about double negatives and other oddities in languages in #trading.

Markets

DCR started the month at USD 56 / BTC 0.0073 and had a two week decline. On Aug 14 the whole market took a huge drop and briefly went below USD 200 billion. Bitcoin went below USD 6,000 and top 100 cryptos lost 5-30%. The lowest point coincided with Bitcoin dominance peak at 54.5%. On that day Decred dived -17% and reached the bottom of USD 32 / BTC 0.00537. Since then it went sideways in the USD 35-45 / BTC 0.0054-0.0064 range. Around Aug 24, Huobi showed DCR trading volume above USD 5M and this coincided with a minor recovery.
@ImacallyouJawdy posted some creative analysis based on ticket data.

Relevant External

StopAndDecrypt published an extensive article "ASIC Resistance is Nothing but a Blockchain Buzzword" that is much in line with Decred's stance on ASICs.
The ongoing debates about the possible Sia fork yet again demonstrate the importance of a robust dispute resolution mechanism. Also, we are lucky to have the treasury.
Mark B Lundeberg, who found a vulnerability in atomicswap earlier, published a concept of more private peer-to-peer atomic swaps. (missed in July issue)
Medium took a cautious stance on cryptocurrencies and triggered at least one project to migrate to Ghost (that same project previously migrated away from Slack).
Regulation: Vietnam bans mining equipment imports, China halts crypto events and tightens control of crypto chat groups.
Reddit was hacked by intercepting 2FA codes sent via SMS. The announcement explains the impact. Yet another data breach suggests to think twice before sharing any data with any company and shift to more secure authentication systems.
Intel and x86 dumpsterfire keeps burning brighter. Seek more secure hardware and operating systems for your coins.
Finally, unrelated to Decred but good for a laugh: yetanotherico.com.

About This Issue

This is the 5th issue of Decred Journal. It is mirrored on GitHub, Medium and Reddit. Past issues are available here.
Most information from third parties is relayed directly from source after a minimal sanity check. The authors of Decred Journal have no ability to verify all claims. Please beware of scams and do your own research.
Feedback is appreciated: please comment on Reddit, GitHub or #writers_room on Matrix or Slack.
Contributions are welcome too. Some areas are collecting content, pre-release review or translations to other languages. Check out @Richard-Red's guide how to contribute to Decred using GitHub without writing code.
Credits (Slack names, alphabetical order): bee, Haon, jazzah, Richard-Red and thedecreddigest.
submitted by jet_user to decred [link] [comments]

ColossusXT Q1 2019 AMA Ends!

Thank you for being a part of the ColossusXT Reddit AMA! Below we will summarize the questions and answers. The team responded to 22 questions! If your question was not included, it may have been answered in a previous question or AMA. The ColossusXT team will do a Reddit AMA at the end of every quarter.
We do have a question. Should we change the two examples that we have used for the past year, or should we continue to use those?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The winner of the Q4 AMA Contest is: Gettyspurgu
You will receive a message from me shortly for a deposit address.
Thank you to everyone who participated.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Why does your blockchain exist and what makes it unique?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: ColossusXT exists to provide an energy efficient method of supercomputing. ColossusXT is unique in many ways. Some coins have 1 layer of privacy. ColossusXT and the Colossus Grid will utilize 2 layers of privacy through Obfuscation Zerocoin Protocol, and I2P and these will protect users of the Colossus Grid as they utilize grid resources. There are also Masternodes and Proof of Stake which both can contribute to reducing 51% attacks, along with instant transactions and zero-fee transactions. This protection is paramount as ColossusXT evolves into the Colossus Grid. Grid Computing will have a pivotal role throughout the world, and what this means is that users will begin to experience the Internet as a seamless computational universe. Software applications, databases, sensors, video and audio streams-all will be reborn as services that live in cyberspace, assembling and reassembling themselves on the fly to meet the tasks at hand. Once plugged into the grid, a desktop machine will draw computational horsepower from all the other computers on the grid.
------------------------------------------------------
Q: What is the Colossus Grid?
------------------------------------------------------
A: ColossusXT is an anonymous blockchain through obfuscation. Zerocoin Protocol, along with utilization of Armis (I2P). These features will protect end user privacy as ColossusXT evolves into the Colossus Grid. The Colossus Grid will connect devices in a peer-to-peer network enabling users and applications to rent the cycles and storage of other users’ machines. This marketplace of computing power and storage will exclusively run on COLX currency. These resources will be used to complete tasks requiring any amount of computation time and capacity, or allow end users to store data anonymously across the COLX decentralized network. Today, such resources are supplied by entities such as centralized cloud providers which are constrained by closed networks, proprietary payment systems, and hard-coded provisioning operations. Any user ranging from a single PC owner to a large data center can share resources through Colossus Grid and get paid in COLX for their contributions. Renters of computing power or storage space, on the other hand, may do so at low prices compared to the usual market prices because they are only using resources that already exist.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Could you give me 3 points where COLX exceeds other crypto and 1/2 point where you think COLX lacks behind or could do better. (Pardon me if my English is not perfect)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: Sure.
Exceeds:
  1. Community Service and Support – ColossusXT provides 24/7 support in our Discord Server
  2. Dedication – The ColossusXT team holds quarterly AMA’s and look forward to community questions and feedback. We are active daily in Discord to address ANY concerns or questions.
  3. ColossusXT is building a product, rather than hyping up a nonexistent product.
Lacks:
  1. Marketing – As above, we are well aware that our marketing presence is not as active or strong as many of these other projects. I believe that many of these projects will die off, and the only thing keeping them alive is their marketing. They have stopped building, ColossusXT is very goal and task oriented. Marketing is intended to pick up as we get closer to the Colossus Grid going live.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Hi
My question to the ColossusXT team :
Can you tell us more clearly about the environmentally conscious cryptocurrency. In what way is it environmentally conscious
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: You use less energy to mine Proof of Stake blockchains than you do with Proof of Work blockchains. As the Colossus Grid comes online, the computing power that you can rent cycles from, and the decentralized storage will also be at competitive pricing with current systems.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: What is colx doing different from the hundreds of other low market cap coins to rise up and be a player in this saturated market?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: ColossusXT’s greater purpose is the Colossus Grid. Please take some time to check out our whitepaper, there is also some sample descriptions of ColossusXT and the Colossus Grid in the first post of this AMA.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: What projects are the COLX team working on in order to promote/achieve mass adoption and usage?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: It's difficult to announce anything before the processes are finalized. We have some strategic marketing plans in place for the Colossus Grid that will bring a significant amount more visibility to the Colossus Grid and ColossusXT. I really don't like answering questions by saying I cannot share this information, but in this case; I do apologize.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: How does COLX in its current state and development lend itself to grid computing? For example, why fork from PIVX to make a grid computing coin?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: We forked from PIVX because each team member values privacy as a right, and our community is built around thousands of individuals who believe in your right to privacy, and want to make the world a better place by reducing energy consumption and allow access to supercomputing power to any researching, business, or person in the world.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Hey team! Just wondering COLX initially intended to make their own payment method if I recall correctly. Is the plan to just use these third party cards or are we eventually going to implement our own. I feel like this may bring great value to the project for us being less dependent on other companies. Cheers!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: We are currently focusing much of our development funding and time towards the Colossus Grid, we may have more time to focus on this in the future. Currently we have integrated with Polis and Plaak cards in the meantime. We also intend to make fiat purchases available in wallet and will be available on an exchange in the coming weeks.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: As a ColX investor I would like to ask the critical question, why would any online or real store accept colX over many other crypto currencies, that are either more established or more well known.
Can you answer me this as reflective and honest as possible?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: Many of these larger projects have also completed large ICO’s. What will make ColossusXT stand out is the level of development we will continue to push and the continued relationships and partnerships we form that will have a meaningful impact on the Colossus Grid; Having no ICO and no premine ColossusXT may seem like a small marketcap coin to many investors, and in a statistical standpoint it certainly is, but at one point those competing projects were not established, and they were not well known. We are here to build the Colossus Grid network, and continue to improve on that network for years to come.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Do you think there’s any merit in considering a name change, perhaps coupled with a brand re-launch? “ColussusXT” is rather a mouthful!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: We have this question come up every AMA I think, and we have given it some serious discussion. It is certainly possible, about a year ago we rebranded from ColossusCoinXT to ColossusXT.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: COLX is quite far in its development now. With that in mind, can the team give us any details as to the architecture for the Colossus Grid? What are its specifications, for example?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: A detailed business plan for the Colossus Grid will be revealed soon. The technical details are being worked in a private repo until Beta. Prior to Beta launch when we have all of our ducks in a row. We will release technical details and create a branch in GitHub.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: the daily volume is sometimes below 1k usd, that really is pretty much nothing. how soon can we expect a listing at a "bigger" exchange like for example kucoin?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: Listing with some of the larger exchanges requested by the community requires some legal documents that we needed to procure and compliance regulations within the United States. We have acquired them this week thanks to our amazing legal team, and we hope to offer some more exciting exchange opportunities to the ColossusXT community very soon.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Also are you guys planning to decrease roi on the masternodes and stakingas it is still quite high to seem realistic
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: We have one of the lowest of the crypto projects. About the time you wrote this question there was a bug in the masternode tracker, and it has since been fixed. Please let me know if this was your concern when you have some time. Thank you

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: If you have no money, where will you get it to develop the project? Public recognition will not push the token up if the team has no money for its development. Society recognizes that cryptocurrency, which in a short time achieves great results. And with the help of one enthusiasm, you will not achieve much in any economic sector.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: I think there may be some confusion here. We don’t have 0$ funding. We use our own income, the dev fund, and the community crowdfunds for certain opportunities. We have limited funding, which basically means we thoroughly double check everything before spending a dime, we use much of our funding for development of the Colossus Grid.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Where do you see ColossusXT 10 years from now?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: In 10 years I see ColossusXT as a leader in supercomputing and distributed storage industries. ColossusXT will bring cheaper, and more efficient methods of storing and computing, drastically reducing cost and energy consumption to process and store big DATA. "Why our blockchain exists?" takes this further for you; As the Colossus Grid network grows, the strength of it's computing power will grow. Hopefully in 10 years we have cheaper supercomputing power that has helped colleges and researches further their dream of solving problems, answering the difficult question; Skynet does creep into the back of my head from time to time though. ;)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Will to be possible to bridge a Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) or SAP like system to provide corporate solution not only for recording business transaction but also to protect Corporations data using COLX protocal?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: Colossus Grid will be able to be used either in individual or in corporate level. Depending on the need, corporations can utilize Colx coins to buy storage and make their data protected over Grid instead of depending on servers if relevant.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: After the incident of fake stake attack how do you guarantee the security of chain-based Pos? I mean how you improve the security to prevent or not to happen it again? As you mention that colx is alternative to bitcoin. Is there a possible of mass adoption to colx like bitcoin(btc past 10 years)? If yes. How could it be?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: Yes. The Fake Staking bug did not affect your coins, it would cause your wallet to crash for the most part. We are currently doing a massive codebase upgrade, to fine tune and continue to scale our technology and security with technology as it changes.
Certainly mass adoption is possible, but as Bitcoin is not building a network for distributed computing power and storage, we still have some work to do for mass adoption.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Remote activation is possible for masternodes and it is much safer. Is there already a blockchain technology to do that for staking? If not, is it possible to invent it and apply it in COLX?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: There is currently no roadmap item to enable remote activation or offline storage for staking wallets. As a community-based project COLX does honor feature requests when the community demand justifies the cost of implementation or when the community is able to directly fund the change, however, we have not seen any demand for remote staking activation thus far. If this becomes a more common request, we could definitely consider using our monetary resources to add that to the COLX featureset.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: How many Funds do you have left to keep the project running if the bear stays a year longer?
In other words: How safe is my money in colx Tokens?
I dont have a problem to hold them for many years. But I have a problem if you're going to quit the project before the bull returns :-P
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: ColossusXT was initially built with team funding, to us; it is very important that we complete the Colossus Grid not only for the ColossusXT community, but to show the entire blockchain industry that you do not need an ICO, or a premine to create something great. The Colossus Grid will allow any user to rent or share computing power or storage across the ColossusXT decentralized network. Now we continue to work with funding contributions directly from core team members, we are also utilizing masternode governance that has also increased our funding since ColossusXT was initially launched and several community crowdfunds have been successfully completed. The bear market could continue, and ColossusXT will continue building and optimising the ColossusXT network and the Colossus Grid. We have set out with a mission, and we fully intend to complete our mission of bringing cheap and efficient computing power to anyone in the world.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: How many active developers does COLX have?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: 5 active developers are currently apart of the ColossusXT team. We do intend to grow our team with more developers who are passionate about grid computing, creative and willing to break boundaries.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: What are the prerequisites for a system to join Colossus Grid for sharing computing power and storage space?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: These details will be released prior to Beta invitations being sent out. There is much that will change between Alpha and Beta.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Are there any plans to actively promote growth of open source contributions towards ColossusXT core or peripherals?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: All COLX development is open source and available on GitHUB. COLX is a community-based project and we encourage talented developers who wish to contribute to contact to the team to see how they can best contribute. The COLX development team is currently focusing on delivering our core applications in a timely manner as outlined in the roadmap. As that work nears completion, we will be looking to expand the team and the COLX product into a variety of peripheral use cases.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: What are your thoughts as to why trade satoshi is delisting COLX?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: Tradesatoshi is delisting COLX, along with several other coins, due to their new volume policy. After being listed on Cryptopia last year, most of the COLX volume had departed Tradesatoshi. While it would be nice to have COLX still listed on Tradesatoshi, it likely would lose any potential volume once Cryptopia fully reopens with deposits/withdrawals. The team is committed to applying for larger and better exchanges to help increase volume and the availability to larger numbers of investors. Please keep in mind that the current deadline to transfer any remaining coins from Tradesatoshi is April 15th.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q: Hey guys, first of all, great job on the recent addition to Binance Info's transparency initiative. Keep up the great work!
In thinking about potential markets for grid computing, one area that I and many other crypto enthusiasts and miners are already familiar with is hashrate clearing houses like Nicehash. Nicehash is a great service but, just like a centralized crypto exchange, requires trusting a centralized point of failure in order to function. As we've seen in the past, this can lead to issues.
With all that said, it would be great if, in the future, mining hashpower could be bought and sold through a grid computing marketplace in a way that is decentralized, private and trustless. I was wondering if the team had given any thought to a pilot test of the upcoming grid by integrating well known open source mining software as a working platform for compute power buyers and sellers.
I think doing this would have two key advantages:
1. Crypto miners are generally familiar with the process of holding and moving around smaller cap altcoins with their native wallets and may not have an issue buying or selling COLX to complete grid transactions, so in a lot of ways these kinds of folks are ideal candidates to be the first users of the COLX Grid; and
2. If miners come on board in a meaningful way, it may help establish some buying and selling volume for COLX as contracts are bought and sold. This is obviously important for future price stability.
I know that's a lot, but I figured this was a good place to ask and I'd love to know the team's thoughts on this. Thanks for your time and once again, keep it up!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A: Yes, we have discussed this previously as a team. It is possible that some of the computing power being rented on the decentralized marketplace is being used to mine other cryptocurrencies. While this is not initially the intended purpose for using computing power on the Colossus Grid. It certainly is thinking outside the box, and I’m eager to read some of the future results from community members who do use it for this purpose.

Important Information:

Website
Whitepaper
Roadmap
GitHub
Wiki
Governance
Partners

Follow ColossusXT on:

Twitter
Facebook
Telegram
Discord
Forums
Interested in joining the ColossusXT team?
Contribute an Idea!

AMA History:

2018 Q1
2018 Q2
2018 Q3
2018 Q4
submitted by PioyPioyPioy to ColossuscoinX [link] [comments]

What is Bitcoin? Bitcoin Explained Simply for Dummies ... Bitcoin Options Traing & Ethereum Options Trading Introduction - Binance JEX Options Trading Guide How To Move Your Altcoins From Binance To Bittrex Shorting Bitcoin EXPLAINED! Buy Bitcoin - Kris Marszalek CEO Crypto.Com  On Binance  CRO MCO Utility  Crypto.com Exchange Options Price Calculation Guide in in Binance JEX Exchange, Bitcoin and Cyrpto Currency Lessons Ted Lin - Binance: Cardano(ADA) Banned from Wiki? Bitcoin to $350k? Binance to issue Debit Card Bitcoin BIG Move?  Craig Wright Is A Fraud  Binance DELISTS Bitcoin SV This Line Is Critical For Bitcoin + Binance Scandal

Back in Q1 of 2018, the Telegram Open Network (TON) secured USD 1.7bn in funding from private investors.However, if TON is not able to live up to its promise and issue the first TON tokens (i.e., Gram) by October 31st 2019, the capital raised will be returned to investors.; The launch of the Telegram Open Network marks the birth of the 5th generation of blockchains, with features such as ... Buy SecuX Crypto Wallet Bundle - W20 + W10 Hardware Wallet - w/Touch Screen, USB - Fully Support BTC, ETH, Ripple, Litecoin, Bitcoin Cash, Digibyte, Dash, Binance, Dogecoin, GRS, XLM, ERC-20: USB Flash Drives - Amazon.com FREE DELIVERY possible on eligible purchases Please share the content On Wednesday, Btc.top founder Jiang Zhuoer disclosed that five mining operations had plans to donate roughly $6 million in coinbase rewards (depending on market prices) to developers building Bitcoin Cash infrastructure. The news was met with mixed reviews as some of the specifics of the deal were scrutinized and the miner… Of corse, Repository already contains console application example without any issue. There are few steps how to use: Provides both Async and Sync Methods; Added an Example Console App which contains all API calls. Usage examples for each function can alse be found in the test project. It’s very unlikely Bitcoin fits this description because Bitcoin offers value as a form of money: using the proof-of-work concept, Bitcoin sufficiently solves the problem of reaching a consensus among a network of untrusted peers, allowing for funds to be quickly transferred to anyone on the planet without trusting a 3rd party. Bitcoin is the first payment system to accomplish this. Binance has high liquidity in many different assets, not just Bitcoin and other top coins. Bitcoin is by far the most-traded asset on Binance but altcoins also feature decent volume. The altcoin advantage is a virtuous cycle for Binance, and new coins often choose to list with Binance over competing exchanges. This includes many coins from Asia that may not be available from Western-based ... Binance platform can be used for trading Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, and Ethereum and also QTUM Coin, Iconomi or NEO Coin. A key feature of the platform is that only crypto currencies from Asia are traded here. That’s because the platform is focused on China and operates primarily in the Chinese markets. ICOs can be initiated and can be displayed on the platform even if they are not publicly ... Binance currently have a larger team in Shanghai, and a smaller team in Tokyo (a few key developers). So things took off in China faster than the western community. Contacting the western ICO platforms etc are usually done via email across different time zones and was slower. Our current support team in mostly fluent in Chinese, less so in ... The Binance meetup was held yesterday in London, the first in the English capital to discuss the news of the exchange and ask questions to CEO Changpeng Zhao.. Mariana Gospodinova, Binance‘s Chief Operating Officer Europe, is the first to take the floor. She also explains the reason for a London meetup: “ London has more cryptocurrencies per capita than Switzerland “. Bitcoin. BTC--Bitcoin Cash. BCH--Ethereum. ETH--Ethereum Classic. ETC--Litecoin. LTC--0x. ZRX--View all. This content and any information contained therein is being provided to you for informational purposes only, does not constitute a recommendation by Coinbase to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument referenced in the content, and does not constitute investment ...

[index] [16389] [1125] [18274] [18673] [1989] [11888] [19526] [3251] [21209] [13729]

What is Bitcoin? Bitcoin Explained Simply for Dummies ...

Binance FIAT https: ... #Bitcoin #BTC #Crypto. Loading... Autoplay When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next. Up next BITMEX Tutorial How to SHORT/LONG Bitcoin ... Welcome back to the no BS blockchain channel covering bitcoin, cryptocurrency and everything around FinTech. Episode 9 is with the Ted Lin, CGO of Binance, the most popular and innovating crypto ... #Bitcoin Addressing the audience at the ongoing #BlockShow Asia 2019, CEO of Crypto.com #Kris #Marszalek stated this is going to be the most liquid and secure exchange platform for cryptocurrency. This video is a brief introduction on #Options Trading in #Binance JEX Exchange Binance JEX belongs to Binance.com. Here in Binance JEX, you can trade #Bitcoin Futures, Bitcoin Options, Ethereum ... Cardano(ADA) Banned from Wiki? Bitcoin to $350k? Binance to issue Debit Card ----- My other channels and subscribe! https://www.youtube.com/cha... binance how to buy bitcoins how to buy bitcoins with paypal how to buy bitcoins with credit card how to buy bitcoins with cash how to buy bitcoin stock how to buy bitcoins anonymously how to buy ... This Line Is Critical For Bitcoin + Binance Scandal Altcoin Daily. Loading... Unsubscribe from Altcoin Daily? Cancel Unsubscribe. Working... Subscribe Subscribed Unsubscribe 161K. Loading ... This video is a brief introduction on options trading in #Binance #JEX Exchange Binance JEX belongs to Binance.com. Here in Binance JEX, you can trade #Bitcoin Futures, Bitcoin Options, Ethereum ... Start trading Bitcoin and cryptocurrency here: http://bit.ly/2Vptr2X Bitcoin is the first decentralized digital currency. All Bitcoin transactions are docume... Bitcoin Technical Analysis & Bitcoin News Today: Craig Wright is a fraud and Binance delists Bitcoin SV. I'll use technical analysis on the Bitcoin price to make a Bitcoin price prediction. Watch ...

http://youtube-binaryoption.forexcompanies.website